Kerry Vahala Elected to National Academy of Engineering

Subscribe to the KNI Email List

Professor Kerry Vahala receives the honor of being elected to this year's cohort of National Academy of Engineering.

Kerry J. Vahala

February 8, 2020

Kerry J. Vahala, Ted and Ginger Jenkins Professor of Information Science and Technology and Applied Physics; Executive Officer for Applied Physics and Materials Science, has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) for “research and application of nonlinear optical microresonators to the miniaturization of precision time and frequency systems."

This year NAE elected 87 new members and 18 international members. According the the NAE website, election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer and honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature," and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

Learn more about this year's elected members here.