Rana Adhikari Wins New Horizons In Physics Prize

Subscribe to the KNI Email List

Rana Adhikari and colleagues are awarded a 2019 New Horizons In Physics Prize.


October 18, 2018

Professor of Physics Rana Adhikari, along with Lisa Barsotti and Matthew Evans from MIT, are one of six recipients of this year's New Horizons In Physics Prize. Awarded by the same foundation that issues the Breakthrough Prizes In Life Sciences, Fundamental Physics and Mathematics, the New Horizons In Physics Prizes honors early-career achievements in physics and math.

Adhikari, Barsotti and Evans received this award for their research on present and future ground-based detectors of gravitational waves. Along with their fellow 2019 Breakthrough Prize honorees, the three will be recognized at the seventh annual Breakthrough Prize ceremony on Sunday, November 4, at NASA Ames Research Center in Mountain View, CA which will be broadcasted live on the National Geographic channel.

The Breakthrough Prize Foundation was established in 2012 and is sponsored by Sergey Brin, Priscilla Chan and Mark Zuckerberg, Ma Huateng, Yuri and Julia Milner and Anne Wojcicki. For more information, visit the Breakthrough Prize website.