2018 Kavli Prize Announcements

Subscribe to the KNI Email List

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2018 Kavli Prizes in Astrophysics, Nanoscience and Neuroscience!

2018 Kavli Prize Announcements

May 31, 2018

"The Kavli Prizes recognize scientists for pioneering advances in our understanding of existence at its biggest, smallest, and most complex scales. Presented every two years in the fields of astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience, each of three international prizes consists of $1 million (U.S.). Laureates are chosen by committees whose members  are recommended by six of the world’s most renowned science societies and academies. Winners receive gold medals in Oslo, Norway, in a ceremony presided over by His Majesty King Harald. A banquet takes place at Oslo’s famed City Hall."

The 2018 Kavli Prize laureates are:

Astrophysics: Ewine van Dishoeck

“for her combined contributions to observational, theoretical, and laboratory astrochemistry, elucidating the life cycle of interstellar clouds and the formation of stars and planets”

Nanoscience: Emmanuelle Charpentier, Jennifer A. Doudna, Virginijus Šikšnys

“for the invention of CRISPR-Cas9, a precise nanotool for editing DNA, causing a revolution in biology, agriculture, and medicine”

Neuroscience: A. James Hudspeth, Robert Fettiplace, Christine Petit

“for their pioneering work on the molecular and neural mechanisms of hearing.”

Learn more about the outstanding work of this year's Kavli Prize recipients here, and the history of the Kavli Prize here.

The Kavli Prize is a partnership between The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, The Kavli Foundation (United States), and The Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research.