Home People Facilities Research Calendar News Positions Contact Us
The Kavli Prize

The Kavli Prize
The Kavli Foundation


The Kavli Prizes

Science prizes for the 21st century, the Kavli Prizes recognize scientists for their seminal advances in three research areas: astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience. Established in 2008, the Kavli Prizes are awarded every two years and consist of a scroll, medal and cash award of one million dollars for each area.


The Kavli Prize in Nanoscience
The Kavli Prize in Nanoscience is awarded for outstanding achievement in the science and application of the unique physical, chemical and biological properties of atomic, molecular, macromolecular and cellular structures and systems manifested in the nanometer scale. This includes molecular self-assembly, nanomaterials, nanoscale instrumentation, nanobiotechnology, macromolecular synthesis, molecular mechanics and related topics.

Call for Nominations
For information on when and how to submit nominations, visit: www.kavliprize.no. To request notification on the call for nominations and other updates, submit your request to: kavliprize@dnva.no.



Above, left to right: In 2008, Louis Brus (Columbia University) and Sumio Iijima (Meijo University) received the inaugural Kavli Prize medals in nanoscience from His Royal Highness Crown Prince Haakon Magnus of Norway.

About the Kavli Prizes
Inaugurated in 2008, the Kavli Prizes are jointly sponsored and awarded by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research, and The Kavli Foundation. The prizes are awarded at a ceremony in Oslo, Norway, followed by a symposium honoring the laureates.

The Kavli Prizes are administered by the Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letters. The Norwegian Academy organizes Prize selection committees comprised of distinguished international scientists recommended by the Chinese Academy of Sciences, the French Academy of Sciences, the Max Planck Society, the Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letters, the U.S. National Academy of Sciences and The Royal Society of the U.K. After completing their reviews, the review committees' selections are put forward to the Academy for confirmation. The review process and the selection of Kavli Prize recipients are independent of The Kavli Foundation and the Kavli Institutes.

For general information about the Kavli Prize, visit: www.kavliprize.no.



The KNI is located in Steele Laboratory
kni@caltech.edu | 626.395.1547
1200 East California Boulevard, 107-81, Pasadena, CA USA 91125
KNI at Caltech